To the trash heap

A decade-plus of covering the thoroughbred industry led to lots of files that mostly have been in boxes in my garage (to the frustration of my wife) for better than a year now. So last weekend I went through them again, keeping ones I might write about again and trashing others that maybe have been written about enough or are dead.

I had lots of files about medication and various iterations of “the future of horse racing,” as if there wasn’t one. The contents of those are  now recycling fodder.

Not that racing doesn’t have its problems and not that medication won’t continue to be a battle line for years to come (as it has for decades), but the conclusion I came to in deciding what to pitch was that both get more attention than they deserve.

While I was working in the garage, Keeneland Race Course’s opening weekend attendance hit 66,437. That doesn’t sound like a sport without a future.fullsizerender

Leave a Reply

